D-Blog Week 2012! Find A Friend

I have a VERY bad tendency to do more blogging when I have a reason to… I guess that means I should be scouring the interwebs for memes and the like, but, alas, I do not.

But now I have a reason again!

This week kicks off the 3rd Annual Diabetes Blog week!  Started 2 years ago by Karen at Bitter Sweet Diabetes, this is a week when diabetes bloggers can post on a set of topics over the course of the week.  It brings the DOC a little bit closer… not that this group needs any help!

The topic for today is Find A Friend.  The idea is to write about a d-blog that you read that others might not know about, and share the love!  Or officially:

It seems the most popular thing about Diabetes Blog Week is that it helps us find blogs we weren’t reading yet and connect with some new blog friends.  With that in mind, let’s kick off Diabetes Blog Week by making some new connections.  Think about the d-blogs you read that you think we may not know about and introduce us to one that you love!!  Let’s all find a new friend today!    (Special thanks to Gina, everybody’s Diabetes BFF, for helping me title this post!)

Well, I feel like I went through and did all my searching a long time ago, so I’ll tell you instead of a couple of my favorites….

I’m sure most everyone has been to this one….Six Until Me was the first blog that I found after I was diagnosed.  At a time when I didn’t know really anything about what was going on, and didn’t really get enough information from my doctor’s, reading Kerri’s blog helped me figure out how to be a diabetic and be a normal person at the same time.  I found so much information in her pages, about so much, that it was just a wonderful discovery!  This blog is always on the top of my reading list!

One of my other favorites is Mike Lawson at What Some Would Call Lies.  His blog is so refreshingly… refreshing!  Its funny, sentimental, and best of all, honest,  This blog is one that I turn to when I need some real life amusement.

There are just so many people that I feel like I’ve come to know through their blogs.. I tend to be a lurker, but I love reading about so many people’s lives, and knowing that everyone is so much themselves, yet part of this great big whole community that I’m so happy to be a part of.

Looking forward to seeing everyone’s posts and finding some great new reads!

Leave a Reply

