D-Blog Week 2012! One Great Thing

Today’s D-Blog Week topic is “One Great Thing”

Living with diabetes (or caring for someone who lives with it) sure does take a lot of work, and it’s easy to be hard on ourselves if we aren’t “perfect”.  But today it’s time to give ourselves some much deserved credit.  Tell us about just one diabetes thing you (or your loved one) does spectacularly!  Fasting blood sugar checks, oral meds sorted and ready, something always on hand to treat a low, or anything that you do for diabetes.  Nothing is too big or too small to celebrate doing well!

I have to say that nothing I do for my diabetes is “perfect”… I think this is a disease that unfortunately just can’t be classified like that.  No matter what you do, no matter how hard you try, sometimes its just not going to work. Sometimes it does, though, so you have that to look forward to!

One thing that I feel has been helpful to me since my diagnosis though, is that being a diabetic makes me aware of what I’m putting in my mouth to eat!  I may not always eat what I should… I certainly don’t put down desserts like I should! … but I am hyper-aware of what I’m eating every day.  Every bite that I put into my mouth, be it good or bad, I have to account for.  I have to make a conscious decision as to whether or not that item will be good or bad for my blood sugar, and do I really feel like poking myself AGAIN just to be able to eat it??  Its much more difficult to hold yourself accountable for the foods you eat as a diabetic than if you are not.  Ahh to be able to just eat something without thinking about it first.. but we do what we have to.  And one a personal level, I kind of like having that little bit of structure to hold me up… usually!

Leave a Reply

