more about the old eyeballs

So its been almost 2 weeks since I had the Lasek surgery on my eyes… and let me say, its been a trial!!  After I got the contact lenses removed I was so thrilled to not be in pain (from them) and to also be able to see.. but the whole next week was torturous because i developed EXTREME light sensitivity.

Anyone who has had eye surgery I’m sure can say that yes, bright lights are very very bright.  My sister complained about it when she got her eyes done, although she probably will say she doesn’t remember because it was so long ago.  But this was really really really bad!!!  I had a really hard time driving to and from work because I literally couldn’t keep my eyes open long enough to focus.  It was a horrific drive, trying to blink constantly, get my focus, and shield my eyes (some days with 2 pairs of sunglasses on).

I still have a hard time in the mornings, but by the afternoon I’m usually doing pretty good and can see things without squinting.. usually.  I have to constantly apologize to patients in my office for squinting at them or looking at them with my eyes half closed.  I don’t want them to think I’m half asleep!!

The weirdest thing is that if I hold my hands over the top of my eyes, forming a little shelf with blinders on the sides, its almost like giving my eyes a solid line to focus out of and that seems to help.  I don’t know why though… its very odd.

I think that part of this comes from a side effect of the Ciprofloxacin drops that I had to put in my eyes… its listed as one of the side effects but maybe it just affected me more?  I don’t know.  I’m glad those drops are done (as of today), so I can see if that was part of the reason.

Fun fun fun!

Leave a Reply

