Making Do… (assignment 4.1)

** Please note:  This blog post was written in whole or in part as an assignment for a class that I was taking.  If you decide to use some of my work in your own assignments, please give credit where credit is due and cite your source!  Thanks :) **

While this started out as a homework assignment, I decided to put it up here as well because I like questions that make me think…

Select one of your personal beliefs that is not an established fact. Examine your reasons for holding this belief. Are the reasons sufficient? If not, why do you hold the belief in spite of insufficient premises? Is it practically useful? Is it unavoidable?

Most of my classmates had already posted their discussions and nearly all of them were about the topic I had intended to write about…. pay it forward, what comes around goes around, and karma.  So I decided to pick a different belief: the power of positive thinking.

I’m not sure that my reasons for following this belief are very actively planned out or insightful.  I believe that no matter what is happening, if you can put a positive outlook on it, even a small bit, things will come out better.  I guess it kind of goes along with the every cloud has a silver lining belief too, that if you look for the positive in something, you’ll find it, somehow.

I guess I hold to these beliefs, even though they have insufficient premises, because it makes life more bearable to look at things in that way.  During a darker time in my life, I didn’t look at things like this, and I think that it contributed to the bleak feelings I was already feeling.  For me, it is practically useful.  It makes working with a cantankerous boss survivable.  It makes trying to have a baby and not succeeding (yet) bearable.  And on the mundane side of things, it just makes every day a little bit brighter.  I like being able to smile at people because I’m generally happy, not forcing the smile onto my face.

Image

Leave a Reply

